Synopsis

The first book in a breathtaking new fantasy series, A Legacy of Storms and Starlight is a captivating and addictive read, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Danielle L. Jensen.

Zylah Renfall is certain of two things: she will forever be on the run for the murder of a prince, and she somehow used magic to escape her own hanging.

Review

4 stars for the beginning and 3 stars for the rest

First I want to thank Victoria J Price for sending me a copy of her book and some fantastic artprint with it! I am a sucker for artprints and gorgeous fae!

“I didn’t mean to kill him.”
That was the opening sentence of the book and I was sucked in immediately thinking: “Wow. That’s so promising!”.

And the beginning was so good!
Zylah was in prison because she had killed Jesper, the crown prince, when he had tried to rape her.
We learn that her dream of working in the apothecary with her father will be forever lost. That her brother and father who already had lost her mother will forever grieve her.
We were in her head, her heart and with just a few sentences we had the picture of her past life!
Also as she is the main character of the story, we are wondering how she’ll escape.

And escape she will!
In a very surprising way! That will leave her on the run, in the woods, and meeting with a sexy and mysterious stranger: Holt!

See when I say the start was very good??

But then, when they both arrive in Venarian and Zylah gets a job, meets Raife things will…peter out.

There was a lot of potential but it didn’t deliver in that part of the story before luckily kicking back at the end.

What bothered me was that there were things happening, Zylah training, a rebellion to lead, secrets to uncover and at the same time I felt that we went nowhere.
Or more accurately that we stayed on the surface.
I didn’t buy Zylah and Raife’s relationship. I didn’t feel the intensity even if they had very heated moments! If you love heat you’ll be very happy!
It’s like they missed something from the beginning. Raife remained a mystery and their interactions were quite superficial even with their proximity. Maye because Zylah was not totally honest and kept Raife at arm’s length emotionally speaking for so long?

I felt a more genuine connection between Zylah and Holt. Their relationship rang truer than Raife’s did. It felt right, not fabricated, not forced. Well yes you can guess, I preferred the mysterious alpha male to the beautiful and cocky one 

What interested me and frustrated me at the same time was Zylah’s mysterious origin. We still don’t know who and what she is at the end of the book. And usually, the secrecy has me drooling and reading very fast just to KNOW. But I became frustrated when no new ability showed up and when we had no more clue as to whom her parents were.

On a bright side, that book has many alluring ingredients!
Fae, secrets, a rebellion, a maybe love triangle that is not a love triangle and my favorite: Kopi a cute little owl!

So far, my review is in the minority and lots of people love that story. So don’t let my review deter you and make up your own mind! 

Thanks for reading!

Sophie

Similar Posts

Let's talk!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

10 Comments

  1. Great review you have of this one here. I can understand the frustration here though. Its always the worst when you can’t feel the romantic connection and especially when it starts out so good and then flattens. But it does sound like it had great potential and redeeming qualities to it.