Synopsis

The New York Times bestselling author of Life’s Too Short delivers a refreshingly modern fairy tale perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Emily Henry.

After a wild bet, gourmet grilled-cheese sandwich, and cuddle with a baby goat, Alexis Montgomery has had her world turned upside down. The cause: Daniel Grant, a ridiculously hot carpenter who’s ten years younger than her and as casual as they come—the complete opposite of sophisticated city-girl Alexis. And yet their chemistry is undeniable.

While her ultra-wealthy parents want her to carry on the family legacy of world-renowned surgeons, Alexis doesn’t need glory or fame. She’s fine with being a “mere” ER doctor. And every minute she spends with Daniel and the tight-knit town where he lives, she’s discovering just what’s really important. Yet letting their relationship become anything more than a short-term fling would mean turning her back on her family and giving up the opportunity to help thousands of people.

Bringing Daniel into her world is impossible, and yet she can’t just give up the joy she’s found with him either. With so many differences between them, how can Alexis possibly choose between her world and his?

Audiobook review

4,5 stars

Reading or listening to one of Abby Jimenez books feels like coming home. Or wearing an old favorite sweatshirt.

You know what is awaiting you, it feels comfortable and warm, just what you need.

Part of Your World didn’t disappoint with one of the BEST CINNAMON ROLL HERO I have ever read about: Daniel Grant!

Years ago I fell for dark heroes or bad boys but it seems that this has passed and now, just give me all the good guys and cinnamon rolls. The guys you know will save you if you drown, the one who will lift you up, help you be the better part of yourself.

Daniel is all that.

When Alexis Montgomery, ER doctor extraordinaire and heir to an illustrious legacy of brilliant doctors has her car stranded in the mud, it’s Daniel, looking like a hot tattooed lumberjack who will help her.

And when Alexis, that same night, will go home with Daniel, something she has never done before, the baby goat in pajamas will have her hop in his bed and have the best sex in her life!

But

Alexis is ten years older, she is wealthy and lives in a big city far from Daniel’s picturesque small town. She has loads of expectations on her shoulder, to carry the Montgomery legacy. Alexis also has an insufferable and manipulative father, an abusive ex…

She could not have a more different life from Daniel, mayor of that very small town founded by his ancestors. Daniel has no money, has a deaf dog, sports tattoos and mud boots, works wood with great talent. He lives a simple life. A good life. And the town’s community is like a big family.

The whole plot will see these two people so different yet prefect for each other fall hard but their respective legacies won’t make it easy to be together!

I adored how Alexis even if she came from money and had such demanding job was such a natural in that small town. Once she left the ER and some of her snob acquaintances, she put mud boots on to join Daniel and finally learn things she never had to do like cooking, changing a tire, cleaning etc.

Daniel truly embraced her in his world without any reservation. He gave it all. He supported Alexis, cared for her, helped her to truly grow as a person.

Sigh! I have starry eyes talking about him.

He is my new book boyfriend!

I listened to that audiobook in record time, relishing in that small town/age gap/opposite attracts/supportive community story! And you have a baby goat! In pajama! If that does not make you fall for it I don’t know what will.

The narrators were excellent, both favorites of mine: Julia Whelan Zachary Webber.

I finished that story with a big smile on my face and a swoon on my lips.

Thanks for reading!

Sophie

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply to BewareOfTheReader Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

12 Comments

  1. What a lovely review you have of this one. I do like cinnamon roll heroes if they are written well. Glad this one was such a win and I love fun farm animals in romance. haha

  2. You had me shedding tears just thinking about how lovely Daniel was. My thing with the age-gap was that Daniel was so much older than his years because of the things he had experienced in his life. And he was successful in so many other ways than the traditional sense of lots of money. I loved that, and Jimenez gave them both great paths to their futures.

  3. You know I’m all for dark heroes but there’s something about cinnamon rolls that make your heart beat faster!